jump to navigation

Rating my Bank as a CRM Customer January 16, 2017

Posted by Ivor's Window to the IT and CRM World in CRM, Microsoft CRM, Microsoft Dynamics CRM.
Tags:
trackback

bank-call-centre

Over the Christmas holiday I had the requirement to deal with my bank, where I have been a customer for over 15 years. I wanted to add one of my accounts to my Internet banking portfolio as well as conduct some other business relating to the business account run by my wife.

Banks as we well know were all early adopters of CRM systems however many banks still have lots of different systems and full integration is not a reality where silos of data do still exist within different departments.

I made my call, and as usual the bank employee needed to validate who I was, this is fully acceptable and a process I understand. Once they had figured out that I was who I said I was, things should really get easier, one would expect that all my information would be available.

Happily this seemed to be the case initially and they were able to add this existing account to my portfolio, however this is where it got more complicated, I had to be transferred to another department to handle my next query. CRM systems with contextual case data being able to be sent from one agent to another is something that has been around for a number of years, and I think my bank has more or less got this working, as the next agent I spoke to seemed to mostly understand what I was asking about.

They did however ask me some details about the business account just to validate again that I was who I said I was, This was not obtrusive in any way but probably unnecessary.

The outcome however is that they wanted to send us some documents to be completed, scanned and returned to them by e-mail, again a perfectly acceptable process and something that one would easily expect to find within a CRM system.

The documents were e-mailed to my personal e-mail address that I had confirmed on the call, however they were also e-mailed to my work e-mail address that the bank has an alternative. I did not ask for the mail to be sent to both accounts, there is no problem with this as I can access both e-mail accounts remotely. The CRM system should have sent content to only one e-mail address unless I specifically requested otherwise.

The documents had also been prefilled with certain information such as our address and full names etc. however some of the fields that they wanted completed is information that I know they have on hand and included my phone number and e-mail address, which shows that the mail merge was not as effective as it could have been. They also sent me a further document to be completed “If we are not existing customers” this was most bizarre as I am a customer and have been for many years.

So how do I rate them? I would give them 8 out of 10 for use of their CRM and other systems when dealing with me. Why only 8? Well I think the transition from one department to another could have been smoother, they get marked down on asking me to complete some information that they already have, and for supplying the extra form that was not needed.

I have not as yet received any survey or feedback form, but expect that will be the next action in this process if their CRM system is really comprehensive.

Overall however I think they are doing a good job, and hopefully many more companies will follow this example and be able to offer this form of comprehensive capability when dealing with a customer on the phone. Case management is very important, but it is very important to do it right.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Microsoft Dynamics CRM

Everything CRM and other cool stuff

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Team blog

Everything CRM and other cool stuff

Hosk's Dynamic CRM Blog

All views and opinions are personal opinions of the Hosk

