My Work at Home Day (A Parody)

In the whimsical ballet of working from home, where pyjama-clad professionals pirouette between Zoom calls and email acrobatics, I found myself entangled in a comedic paradox today. As I revelled in the bliss of my home office, I couldn’t help but witness the bustling symphony of essential workers outside. Let me share the delightful highlights of my day, where from my window the street became the stage for a performance far beyond the confines of working from home.

I started early today. My house is close to the street and I’m able to see the passing traffic., I saw that the street sweeping machine was late, it was slowly moving down the street. It was 06h55 and the operator looking up caught my eye and waved, I gave him a cheery wave in return. I wonder what time he started work? I wonder if he was late?… Would he get into trouble.

At 8:30. I saw my neighbour and his two children heading up the street to the primary school. He also gave me a wave, and the kids were waving too. I’m very glad the teachers are working today, as the neighbourhood would be quiet. I love school days when I am working from home.

I noticed our local constable, Gerald, sitting in his patrol car watching the parents dropping their kids at school, his ticket book at the ready. He caught my eye and also gave me a wave. I think his shift started at 0600. I’m very glad that he is working today looking after our safety and enforcing traffic laws. I hope he does not notice the one bald tyre on my car, I have arranged to take it in on Saturday, the Tyre Workshop is open in the morning.

At 10:00 AM, I thought I’d take a break and strolled up the street in the opposite direction of the school to a small coffee shop. Ian the owner makes a really good cup of coffee, and we talked about the weather as he made my regular. His lovely wife Jenny was busy in the kitchen baking the scones she is famous for. I’m sure glad they came to work today. A truck was parked outside his shop delivering the milk. So essential for my morning flat white.

I received a text message from the pharmacy letting me know that my repeat prescription was available, I replied that I would fetch this tomorrow, I know that they will be at work.

Back at my desk at 11. 24 a courier van roared up the street and stopped at the house diagonally opposite from where I was sitting. The driver leapt out and disappeared around the hedge with a package. I wondered when my USB adaptor that I had ordered, would arrive also by courier. I’m really glad that these guys are so efficient.

Around lunchtime. I saw some commotion on the other side of the street. I noticed that it was a van from our local water provider. There was water pouring down the street into the gutter. A team of three were hard at work attempting to stop the flow of water. I’m sure glad that they’re at work today. I would have hated the water to creep up to my house and flood my garden.

At 2:30PM. I received a text from our local supermarket, letting me know that the groceries that my wife had ordered would be delivered within the next 15 minutes.

Exactly thirteen minutes later a large, refrigerated truck pulled into my driveway. The driver offloaded a number of packages. We exchanged some pleasantries at the front door, I’m sure glad he was at work today. Looking into one of the bags, I knew what I was having for dinner.

A little after 3:00 PM. I heard a siren and saw a fire engine driving rapidly up the street past the school. I’m very glad they’re at work today. And hopefully they resolved the issue to which they were responding.

Later that afternoon I heard someone knocking at my door. He was dressed in a dark suit with a purple tie and had obviously come to the wrong address. He was speaking a foreign language that I did not recognise. I don’t know who he was, and for whom he was working. But he was, obviously not in the office today.

Just after I finished for the day, I took the wheelie bin to the road as my rubbish is being collected tomorrow and I am sure glad they will be at work tomorrow to do the collection. As I came back into the house, I saw my reflection in the hall mirror. I need a haircut. I’ll pop in and see Mario tomorrow; he is always at his shop.

There are so many posts and comments on LinkedIn and other platforms about and by Individuals who are working at home and who are debating the whole work at home / back the office dilemma that we face. There are many cogent and frank reasons given by people who wish to remain remote workers, and the benefits for them of doing this are compelling and make sense. And there are some reasoned arguments by employers why they think differently.

For example, a lot is made of the time and money saved by not having to commute, more time with the family, and an overall improvement in physical and mental health etc. Remember, these benefits are only shared by workers who “Can” work from home.

However, let’s not forget the silent symphony of those whose essential rhythms echo in the streets, delivery drivers, essential tradespeople, schoolteachers, shop assistants and hospital staff among many many more, all creating a harmonious backdrop for our stay-at-home solos – a reminder that the privilege of remote work should be celebrated with gratitude while silently cheering for those who are making it possible.

As I said last week, be kind out there.

Leave a comment